Keeping an eye on what’s important

– by Waheed Choudhry, President and COO

I just returned to the office yesterday from a family vacation to France and London for the Olympics.  Like any executive, I realized that the trip was going to present me with a big challenge.  I had to figure out a way to stay in touch with the business without letting it interfere with the quality time I planned to invest with my family.    

To meet that challenge, I put together a plan – a “family plan”.  My “family plan” allowed me get a needed break from the daily grind and spend time with the most important people in the world – my family.   It also allowed me to take care of business – important business.  Here’s how it worked.

  • Before we left for the trip, I got in contact with my wireless provider to put in place the service I’d need to make and receive voice calls only.   Text messages were out, as were their constant interruptions. 
  • Prior to the trip, I also met with my staff and made sure that all of them understood that they were in charge of the business.  I would be available, just not necessarily instantaneously. 
  • During the trip, I confined Email and other data capabilities to WiFi connections and hotels, Internet cafés, and Cisco’s Cisco House in London.  This ensured that I would share my family’s memories of the people we’d met, the places we’d seen, and the experiences we’d enjoyed.

My “family plan” was a huge success.  I’ve returned to the office renewed and rejuvenated.  My family and I have tons of wonderful memories from the trip – and the incredible opportunity to actually attend Olympic competitions.   And the business?  My staff has kept Nexus on course for another great year.

Staying connected anytime, anywhere, and anyplace is important to every business, everywhere.  But sometimes we as individuals have to remember that we need to disconnect as well.  When we disconnect it allows us to reconnect with the people who matter most– our family, friends, and community.   It allows us to keep an eye on what’s really important.

Click to watch a video on the Nexus corporate culture of “Success, Family, and Fun”

One Response to Keeping an eye on what’s important

  1. This is excellent, Waheed. Great read, and I couldn’t agree more. I did similar to you when I went on my most recent vacation with family. I came back feeling better than ever and ready to tackle the world. Work/Life balance is very important!

